Federal AI Intelligence
Menu
Snapshot · OMB 2025 inventory · processed Oct 11, 2026
Federal AI landscape

Federal AI at a glance

6 agencies · 21 reported use cases · OMB 2025 Inventory. Portfolio size reflects reporting, not performance.

Agency
Stage1
High-impact
Topic
AI type
Sourcing
Vendor
Function
Start year

Only records with a parseable start date match a year filter.

appeal: not_applicableStage: Pilot
21 Reported AI use cases6 agencies0 Deployed21 Pilots2 Designated high-impact
Decorative federal AI network visualization; not a representation of agency deployment locations or relationships.
Scale & composition

Agencies behind federal AI

Select an agency to explore
Ring shows composition · node area shows use cases
DOE13SBA4
Pilot21Largest portfolio: 13 · 6 agencies

Conceptual agency landscape · positions do not represent deployment locations. Proximity does not imply a relationship.

AI technology mix

Reported classification · click to cross-filter

67% generative or agentic. Each record carries one classification; not reported is shown hatched.

Mission areas

Topic area as reported

Lifecycle composition

21 records
Explore lifecycle stages and impact
Within each stageHigh-impact · Gen./agentic
Pilot10%67%

Impact and technology shares use each stage's records as the denominator.

From development and acquisition to retirement. Select a stage to explore its reported use cases.

Reading the inventory

Evidence, with its limits visible

DOE, SBA, DHS report 18 of 21 use cases (86%).

Understand the methodology →

Evolution of reported AI use cases

By agency-reported start year · click a year to filter
051015<15'15'16'17'18'19'20'21'22'23'2415'25'26
Generative or agenticOther or unclassified21 of 21 records report a parseable start date

Start dates are agency-reported operational or pilot dates, not inventory submission dates. 2026 values are planned or early-year. Undated records are excluded from this chart only.

Sourcing

Reported for 100% of records

Each square is 1% of filtered records. Where reported, 33% involve in-house development.

High-impact AI

Agency self-designation under M-25-21Governance view
21records
Minimum practices · 2 high-impactin place
Pre-deployment testing50%
AI impact assessment50%
Independent review50%
Ongoing monitoring0%
Operator training50%
Fail-safe100%
Appeal process0%
User and public consultation50%
Reported in placeReported in progressNot applicableOther or ambiguous answer

High-impact is the agency's own classification, not an independent risk rating. No answer reported is missing evidence, not evidence that a practice is absent. 100% of high-impact records answer any practice question.

Analytical observations

Computed from the current filter; reproducible
  • FindingDOE, SBA, DHS report 18 of 21 use cases (86%).
  • FindingSourcing is reported for 100% of use cases. Where reported, 33% involve in-house development.
AI classification reported100%
Stage not reported0
Sourcing reported100%