Federal AI landscape: executive briefing
Filtered: stage = pilot; testing = blank
Key findings
- 417 use-case records from 26 agencies: 0 deployed (0%), 417 pilots, 0 in development or acquisition, 0 retired, 0 with no stage reported.
- 21 records are designated high-impact; 0 of them (0%) answered at least one minimum-practice question.
- DOI, HHS, USDA report 224 of 417 use cases (54%).
- Sourcing is reported for 98% of use cases. Where reported, 81% involve in-house development.
Lifecycle
| Stage | Records | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Pilot | 417 | 100% |
AI technology
| Classification | Records | Share | Deployed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Generative AI | 138 | 33% | 0 |
| Classical / predictive ML | 151 | 36% | 0 |
| Natural language processing | 60 | 14% | 0 |
| Computer vision | 29 | 7% | 0 |
| Agentic AI | 18 | 4% | 0 |
| Reinforcement learning | 2 | 0% | 0 |
| Other | 14 | 3% | 0 |
| Not reported | 5 | 1% | 0 |
Agencies
| Agency | Records | Deployed | High-impact | Completeness |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOI · Department of the Interior | 89 | 0 | 0 | 100% |
| HHS · Department of Health and Human Services | 88 | 0 | 0 | 100% |
| USDA · Department of Agriculture | 47 | 0 | 0 | 100% |
| DOE · Department of Energy | 43 | 0 | 6 | 98% |
| DOJ · Department of Justice | 25 | 0 | 7 | 100% |
| TREAS · Department of the Treasury | 22 | 0 | 0 | 100% |
| NASA · National Aeronautics and Space Administration | 21 | 0 | 0 | 98% |
| VA · Department of Veterans Affairs | 21 | 0 | 7 | 75% |
| STATE · Department of State | 9 | 0 | 1 | 100% |
| FRB · Federal Reserve Board | 7 | 0 | 0 | 100% |
| DHS · Department of Homeland Security | 7 | 0 | 0 | 100% |
| EPA · Environmental Protection Agency | 7 | 0 | 0 | 94% |
| SEC · Securities and Exchange Commission | 5 | 0 | 0 | 92% |
| NSF · National Science Foundation | 4 | 0 | 0 | 25% |
| NTSB · National Transportation Safety Board | 3 | 0 | 0 | 100% |
| FDIC · Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation | 3 | 0 | 0 | 100% |
| GSA · General Services Administration | 3 | 0 | 0 | 33% |
| SSA · Social Security Administration | 3 | 0 | 0 | 100% |
| DOL · Department of Labor | 2 | 0 | 0 | 100% |
| NARA · National Archives and Records Administration | 2 | 0 | 0 | 100% |
| CFTC · Commodity Futures Trading Commission | 1 | 0 | 0 | 17% |
| HUD · Department of Housing and Urban Development | 1 | 0 | 0 | 100% |
| FCC · Federal Communications Commission | 1 | 0 | 0 | 100% |
| DOT · Department of Transportation | 1 | 0 | 0 | 67% |
| EAC · Election Assistance Commission | 1 | 0 | 0 | 92% |
| FTC · Federal Trade Commission | 1 | 0 | 0 | 100% |
High-impact designation
| Designation | Records |
|---|---|
| High-impact | 21 |
| Presumed high-impact, determined not | 9 |
| Not high-impact | 379 |
| Not reported | 8 |
Governance evidence: use cases designated high-impact
| Practice | In place | In progress | Not in place | N/A or precluded | Other | No answer | In scope |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pre-deployment testing | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 21 |
| AI impact assessment | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 21 |
| Independent review | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 21 |
| Ongoing monitoring | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 21 |
| Operator training | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 21 |
| Fail-safe | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 21 |
| Appeal process | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 21 |
| User and public consultation | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21 | 21 |
"In place" means the agency reported the practice as established. "No answer" means the field was blank; it says nothing about whether the practice exists.
Method
All figures are computed directly from the normalised inventory records. Category labels are normalised from the source answer options; original values are kept on each record. Governance answers are classified as in place, in progress, not in place, not applicable, precluded, waived, other or no answer, and blanks are never read as "no". See the Methodology page for full rules.
Limitations
- Figures are what agencies reported in the 2025 inventory. They are not verified, and registration of use cases is not complete for every agency.
- A blank answer is missing evidence, not evidence that a practice or safeguard is absent.
- Counts are use-case records. A larger portfolio does not indicate better performance or greater AI maturity, and agencies differ in how they split systems into use cases.
- The inventory has no budget, cost, accuracy or outcome data. None is shown or inferred here.
- This is a disclosure analysis. It is not an audit, a compliance determination or an official government assessment.
Source records
First 40 of 417 records, deployed first. The full list is available as CSV from the explorer with the same filters.
Prepared with Federal AI Intelligence by Irakli Petriashvili. Source: https://github.com/ombegov/2025-Federal-Agency-AI-Use-Case-Inventory