Federal AI Intelligence · U.S. Government AI Observatory
Agency AI profile
Department of Justice (DOJ)
Key findings
- DOJ reported 314 use cases (8.7% of all records): 163 deployed, 25 pilots, 107 in development or acquisition, 19 retired, 0 with no stage.
- 114 are designated high-impact; 73 of those answered at least one minimum-practice question.
- Mean disclosure completeness is 81% of 12 core fields, ranking 16 of 41 agencies.
- Sourcing is reported for 60% of records.
Portfolio
Technology
| Classification | Records | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Generative AI | 89 | 28% |
| Classical / predictive ML | 108 | 34% |
| Natural language processing | 63 | 20% |
| Computer vision | 31 | 10% |
| Agentic AI | 4 | 1% |
| Not reported | 19 | 6% |
Topic areas
| Topic | Records | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Law Enforcement | 170 | 54% |
| Administrative Functions | 62 | 20% |
| Information Technology | 34 | 11% |
| Health and Medical | 7 | 2% |
| Procurement and Financial Management | 6 | 2% |
| Service Delivery | 5 | 2% |
| Human Resources | 4 | 1% |
| Cybersecurity | 3 | 1% |
| Energy and the Environment | 1 | 0% |
| Government Benefits Processing | 1 | 0% |
| Science | 1 | 0% |
| Transportation | 1 | 0% |
| Not reported | 19 | 6% |
Governance disclosures (high-impact records)
| Practice | In place | In progress | N/A | No answer | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pre-deployment testing | 0 | 73 | 0 | 41 | 114 |
| AI impact assessment | 0 | 73 | 0 | 41 | 114 |
| Independent review | 0 | 73 | 0 | 41 | 114 |
| Ongoing monitoring | 0 | 73 | 0 | 41 | 114 |
| Operator training | 0 | 73 | 0 | 41 | 114 |
| Fail-safe | 0 | 73 | 0 | 41 | 114 |
| Appeal process | 0 | 73 | 0 | 41 | 114 |
| User and public consultation | 0 | 73 | 0 | 41 | 114 |
Field completeness
| Field | DOJ | All agencies |
|---|---|---|
| Stage | 100% | 91% |
| High-impact designation | 100% | 88% |
| Topic area | 94% | 83% |
| AI classification | 94% | 82% |
| Problem | 94% | 84% |
| Benefits | 94% | 82% |
| Outputs | 94% | 79% |
| Sourcing | 60% | 44% |
| Start date | 60% | 39% |
| ATO | 60% | 43% |
| PII | 60% | 42% |
| Custom code | 60% | 47% |
Method
All figures are computed directly from the normalised inventory records. Category labels are normalised from the source answer options; original values are kept on each record. Governance answers are classified as in place, in progress, not in place, not applicable, precluded, waived, other or no answer, and blanks are never read as "no". See the Methodology page for full rules.
Limitations
- Figures are what agencies reported in the 2025 inventory. They are not verified, and registration of use cases is not complete for every agency.
- A blank answer is missing evidence, not evidence that a practice or safeguard is absent.
- Counts are use-case records. A larger portfolio does not indicate better performance or greater AI maturity, and agencies differ in how they split systems into use cases.
- The inventory has no budget, cost, accuracy or outcome data. None is shown or inferred here.
- This is a disclosure analysis. It is not an audit, a compliance determination or an official government assessment.
Source records
First 40 of 314 records, deployed first. The full list is available as CSV from the explorer with the same filters.
Prepared with Federal AI Intelligence by Irakli Petriashvili. Source: https://github.com/ombegov/2025-Federal-Agency-AI-Use-Case-Inventory